Simone Marcandalli


Production and Maintenance Manager at the Caponago facilities (Foam Production and Conversion)

Tell us about how long you’ve been working for the company and what position you started in?

I’ve been working for Trocellen for 28 years (since 14.11.1994). At first, I worked as a forklift driver for 2 months, after that, in foam production for 3 months, then I was shift manager for 2.5 years. Then I was transferred to Caponago to work as a production logistics, maintenance, and process engineer, in a managerial position. Over the years, I provided technical support when projects involving new, relocated, or existing equipment were launched: in Germany in 1995, then in Hungary, Malaysia, and Russia (2010), and in Japan (2006–2013), where I also attended a 3-month technical and cultural training in 2006.

Tell us about your background and qualifications.

I had a qualification as an electronics and telecommunications technician.

What led to your appointment?

I always got good reviews at the annual appraisals.

What are your main tasks and responsibilities?

Managing production strategies, KPIs, and the ongoing development of processes through the analysis of solutions aimed at improvement; managing maintenance budgets; providing solutions to technical and management issues in production by analysing primary causes and considering short- and long-term protection strategies; and the selection of those who work directly in production.

You’ve been here for 28 years. Why do you still like working here?

I’ve been here for 28 years, and I’ve stayed because I love my job—it gives me satisfaction, and I feel at home at the company. If you make sacrifices, if you are passionate and loyal to the company and helpful with your colleagues, you can achieve a lot. We face new and unpredictable challenges every day, but every task, large or small, is enjoyable and rewarding. I will only leave this company, which is my second family, when I don’t feel this attachment any longer, and I’ll still be sad to do so…

Share something with us about your private life, about your hobbies so that we can get to know you a little bit better. How can you reconcile the work and the private life?

I’m 51 years old, I’m married with two children. My boys are 15 and 12, they are both at school, and they love tennis, football, and MTB… My greatest hobby is cycling. I’ve been a competitive cyclist for 12 years. I have achieved good results, and I find great joy in it. I have little free time, but now I can cycle about 10–12,000 kilometres every year—early in the morning, in the evening after work, and when I’m free at the weekend.

My motto is NEVER GIVE UP. ROLL UP YOUR SLEEVES, AND… Of course, I can only do this because I have some special people in my life—my wife (who loves cooking and reading) and my parents, who help us with the kids.

Besides sport, I like gardening, cooking, and reading.

What would you recommend to the new colleagues to be able to build a similarly successful career at Trocellen?

What could I say? Never give up, believe in your strengths, in corporate goals, and your colleagues’ abilities… and set out on the mission together… Only if we all work together can we get to the top and be successful.