Isabell Hürten



Tell us about how long you’ve been working for the company and what position you started in?

I have been working at TROCELLEN GmbH in Troisdorf since September 2014.

I also completed my apprenticeship as an industrial clerk here.

What kind of background and studies did you come from?

From 2014 to 2017, I completed an apprenticeship as an industrial clerk. I was able to do the practical part of the training at Trocellen GmbH and thus already got to know all administrative departments of Trocellen.

Immediately after the apprenticeship, I completed a two-year further training course to become a Wirtschaftsfachwirt (IHK). This advanced training is internationally comparable to a business administration bachelor’s degree.

How did you get being promoted?

During my training, the financial accounting department dominated and I was able to gain a lot of experience here. I was even allowed to take over the vacation replacement on my own responsibility.

Before completing my training, I was promised permanent employment and asked about my preferred department. In addition to my first wish of working in accounting, I had specified the areas of warehousing/logistics and purchasing. Fortunately, there was a vacancy in accounting, so I have been working there since 2017.

What are your main tasks/responsibilities today?

In a team of two people, I am independently responsible for the current accounts receivable (customers) and accounts payable (suppliers). In addition, I post account statements and manage the bank accesses. In addition to the weekly payment runs, I am responsible for the dunning process (customers), the cash forecast and travel expenses. In close cooperation with Controlling, I assist with monthly as well as year-end closing tasks.

Since spring 2022 I am an active member of the main committee of the works council.

You are working here about 8 years now. Why do you still love to be here?

After almost 8 years at Trocellen, I still love working here because I’m always learning new things and I don’t stay at the same level of knowledge. At Trocellen, I can work in a structured and organized way, which is something I value a lot.

I enjoy interacting with the different departments and colleagues from the different branches in the intercultural area.

Could you please tell a bit about your private life or hobbies to let you know better? How can you reconcile the work and the private life?

I love being outdoors in nature, preferably with my two dogs, spending a lot of time with my family, boyfriend and friends.

Traveling to always learn about interesting new cultures and see new places is one of my passions. To balance my time at the office, I like to do sports at the gym or dance.

I also like listening to music and attending concerts. In addition, I take photos – preferably people, to capture such beautiful moments in photo books.

What would you recommend to the new colleagues to be able to build a similarly successful career at Trocellen?

The international spirit in the Trocellen Group and, if applicable, the possibility to work beyond one’s own national borders or to gain intercultural experience is exciting and hides further development opportunities.

It is worthwhile to become a part of the Trocellen family, because then you do not only get to know people from your immediate environment, but you have many different and internationally interesting colleagues.